PDA

View Full Version : Lodger and damaged carpet

gzkelly
25-03-2010, 10:07 AM
I may be barking up the wrong tree on this website, but being new to the letting game I'm not sure where else to go other than the expensive solicitors.

I have been working away from home for the last 8 months- coming home occasionally - maybe once a fortnight, but only staying overnight twice in that time period. A colleague/friend rented a room in my house. There was no written agreement and I didn't take a deposit. There have been a long list of issues, the most significant being that she moved her boyfriend in after 3 months (without asking) and stained a brand new (ie less than 6 months old) carpet. Originally she said she would have it professionally cleaned, but then renegaded on that offer and 'walked' - left the house without cleaning any of it and leaving dirty dishes in the dishwasher. She forgot to cancel her standing order for rent (£350). I have refused to give it back as it will cover the cost of cleaning the carpet, having my house cleaned and non payment of rent requested for her boyfriend also staying in the house. She has now threatened me with a court order to reclaim the money. I have been advised that if a carpet is less than 12 months old I'm entitled to claim for the whole carpet (over £700). I'm not prepared to go to court over £350, but do feel that she has taken the michael and I am entitled to that money. All of this is detailed in emails. Any thoughts or suggestions?

Snorkerz
25-03-2010, 10:20 AM
I think the first thing to clarify is if this person was a lodger or tenant. As this property was not your primary residence during their occupation, I feel they were tenants. As such, their rights are different. Usually, tenants are in a safer possition than lodgers, but with rights come responsibilities and on this occassion I think that will help you.