PDA

View Full Version : No written tenancy agreement: T in arrears and subletting

sailthealbion
24-03-2010, 23:19 PM
Hi all, I am new to this & hope im doing it all correctly. My problem started when my original tenent moved their father in. when the original tenant moved out they left the father in my property with no tenancy agreement. At first he paid rent & all was ok but he has now stopped paying rent & is sub letting a room to a couple who I have made contact with & have given me reciepts showing they have paid this man rent for my property but this man has not paid me a penny, he now owes just over £1000. I am now taking their share of the rent directly from this couple & they want to take the tenancy on but I need desperatly to get rid of this man as he is not wanted, not paying rent & also i have proof he is taking rent that does not belong to him which, as of today has been stopped. What id like to know is how can I legally get rid of this man? He has also caused alot of damage to the property & also im worried as to who is liable for the council tax that he is not paying. I am getting desperate as I cannot afford to go on like this much longer & dont have the funds for a drawn out cival court case.
Thank you so much in advance for any help/advice anyone can give me.
Regards
James

Snorkerz
25-03-2010, 08:50 AM
You can commence section 8 proceedings against him under grounds 8, 10 and 11. You could probably add ground 12 in respect of the sub-letting and ground 13 regarding the damage. (google PCOL) Only ground 8 absolutely guarantees possession, and for that the tenant needs to owe you 2 months rent when you serve the s8 notice AND when the matter comes to court.