PDA

View Full Version : Awkward cotenant

NeddyB
10-03-2010, 11:17 AM
Hi,

I have been renting my flat for nearly 3 years, my current cotenant moved in about 18 months ago

However, we don't get on (I didn’t know her before she moved in) . We have very little contact, but when we do - she is very rude towards me... long story short - I've had enough of living with her. I have now found another friend who I know and trust that would like to move in.

When she moved in we signed a 6 month shorthold tenancy. Previously when this expired before, I always signed on for another 6 months. However she refused to sign another term after the expiry of our first 6 months together, so we are now on a monthly periodic statutory tenancy.... (which is something, I hope I can use against her)

I am very settled in the flat, and have absolutely no intention of moving out myself, I have however asked my cotenant if she would move out a couple of times, and she has refused. I tried to do it the nice way, so now basically I’m asking if there are any underhand techniques I can deploy??

What I want to know is what happens if I hand in notice? (although I’m not going anywhere) I know she would be responsible for all the rent. But then if she did find someone to share with her – would she have to sort out a brand new tenancy for both of them? (that’s what I had to do when she moved in) If this is the case, does she have any exclusivity?? Does the landlord have to offer it to her?? Could he then say sign a tenancy with me & my friend.

Given the fact that I get on very well with the landlord and she very much rubs them up the wrong way, I can’t see there being any issue in getting him to agree to giving me first shout on the flat. I’m certain that I have them onside

I know it’s not the most ethical way of doing it... I’m essentially trying to ransom my flatmate with – move out, or pay all the rent on you own (knowing she can’t afford that), but I have to get this woman out of my home.