PDA

View Full Version : Contents insurance and renting

goldilockz
05-03-2010, 14:01 PM
Hi all,
I've been looking at flats to rent in Glasgow recently and have found one I really like. However, the letting agents (Fineholm) insist that I pay contents insurance for the flat. It comes furnished but there's nothing too expensive: just things like the microwave, kettle, toaster etc. I'll be asking them to remove the TV because I won't be using it. The things I'll be taking into the flat myself aren't expensive (just clothes and books) and I'd rather not have to pay this contents insurance because the flat and associated costs are going to be expensive as it is. Isn't it up to the letting company to pay for their contents insurance? Do I HAVE to pay for this? I'm new to renting so would appreciate any help.
Thanks guys
Goldi x
P.S. If anyone knows of any companies that will provide contents insurance for 6 months, please let me know!

ram
05-03-2010, 14:50 PM
contents insurance.Do I HAVE to pay for this?

in a word, yes, and this is normal.

Contents insurance includes your personal items. cloths, shoes, bags, computers, etc, and as the Landlord does not live there, he can't have contents insurance as has no personal contents.

Furnished yes, but you are responsible for keeping the furniture in good order ( not to damage it ). The microwave, kettle, toaster is being rented from the landlord ( furnished ) and if anything goes wrong with them, the landlord will replace, ( will, should, could ) as he owns them.

But contents insurance could also save you money if you inadvertatly break something, as then you could be covered by the insurance, and not have the damages taken out of your deposit when you leave. All depends on what the contents cover,,, covers.

But it is normal for the tenant to have their own contents insurance, and most companies insist on this. One of the things that happens when renting, i'm afraid.

R.a.M.

goldilockz
05-03-2010, 15:07 PM