PDA

View Full Version : Tenants in my flat - no AST, no deposit

k78
01-03-2010, 09:35 AM
Hi

Apologies for any lapses in forum etiquette - I am new to this, and I'm afraid I have been very naive, and now am looking for some advice on how to proceed.

I have had tenants in my flat on an AST through a letting agent for the past 6months. There have been various maintenance issues while they have been there, and when the letting agent has bothered to inform me about them, I have made every effort to resolve them. However, last month the tenants gave a month's notice, which would have had them moving out yesterday.

During this past month I have unfortunately had a major disagreement with the agent and our relationship came to a premature end, meaning that I have been dealing with the tenants directly. During our communications, they have said that actually, as long as I make a commitment to resolve any outstanding maintenance problems as soon as possible, they would like to stay, and sign another 6 month AST. I was happy with this, and after having laid out in writing my plans to solve the problems over coming weeks, I went to the flat yesterday to sign the new tenancy with them. When I got there, they announced that they would not be able to pay a deposit as it has not yet been returned to them by the agent (it is expected this week) and said that they would pay it as soon as possible, but that also, they weren't happy to sign a new contract until they knew exactly what repairs I am prepared to make and when I will be having them carried out. I have explained to them that until I have had professionals assess the situation (which I aim to do within the next 2 weeks) I can't really do this. After much (fairly amicable) discussion, I have found myself leaving the flat with this month's rent in cash, but no deposit and nothing signed by the tenants.