PDA

View Full Version : Landlord Help re general maintenance please

EH11
26-05-2006, 10:45 AM
Hi,

Just stumbled across this website and i'm really impressed with the quality and information, great stuff!

Anyway, i'm looking for some advice regarding tenants I have in my property.... i'm relatively new to the business. A year and a half ago I let out my flat. Prior to doing so, I decorated the property. I also ensured that appliances were checked, smoke alarms etc. It's a good quality let.

I received a call from the tenents recently to say they felt the walls and doors were a little tatty and askked if they could be decorated (they were done prior to them moving in 14 months ago). They then sent a text saying that they felt the carpets were worn and as they planned to stay in the property in the long term, that they would like laminate or new carpets.

I'm really not too sure where my obligation lies here. Is there a rule as to whether or not I need to decorate and renew the carpet etc? If so, as they are planning on staying longer term, is it the 'done thing' to agree a split in costs?

What are people's experiences of this situation? I'd value the advice of someone who has dealt with this situation before. The carpets aren't in terrible shape, but certainly not brand new. However, I don't want to be mean and they are in the main good tenents.

ANy help appreciated.

Thanks

David Lawrenson
26-05-2006, 20:15 PM
I'd be tempted to say,in as nice a way as possible "Well you took the property on face value when they saw it and that is that."
However, if you feel maybe it could do with redecoration anyway, I'd say, "OK, if you stay for another 6 months I would do it then."
Reason is, I don't think 14 months is a very long time to start demanding what are fairly expensive redecorations.
Why not take a view of the letting market - how busy is it, and how good is your place compared with others. Pose as a tenant and go and see some.