PDA

View Full Version : Shouls I be given compenstion

katrinahale
04-02-2010, 19:33 PM
Hi

I have been renting my house since nov 2009 and 1 week before xmas the boiler stopped working. I notified the landlord who struggled to find a plumber to come. I went away for a few days between xmas and new year and upon my return i was informed that the landlord had let a plumber in whilst i was away without notice. The landlord then informed me that the plumber was coming to fit the new part, he then failed to turn up on 2 separate occasions. The landlord then got another plumber to come and he ordered another part which took over another week to come so altogether I was without heating or hot water (except a shower) for approx 5 weeks. The landlord did provide me with electric heaters but because the electrics in the house are old if I plugged them in it overloaded the system and the electric would trip so i had to use the gas fire. Due to that my bills are a lot more than usual. I asked for a little off the rent but was told that it was not her fault that there was adverse weather and that she had to order a part and that she did provide heaters. I feel that it was not my fault either and the contract says it should be repaired in a reasonable time ! what is classed as a reasonable time and should I recieve a discount on my rent any help would be apprecated thanks

tom999
04-02-2010, 19:45 PM
Is the boiler working now?

Are all electric sockets in the entire house unusable?

katrinahale
04-02-2010, 19:52 PM
The bioler is now working all the sockets are working except one in the kitchen that I had to get an electrician out for and he said the cooker had not been wired properly and was conected via a plug which had burnt the socket out I had it repaired as it was dangerous. The electrician said that the electric system was old and only supported 20 instead of 32 which meant that you can only use limited appliances at any one time or it will overload.