PDA

View Full Version : Letting Agents withheld L's name/address beyond 21 days

harrylime
30-01-2010, 19:44 PM
Hello,

First time on the forum. I am looking for some advice on my options after my estate agents failed to provide me with my landlord's name and address well after the 21 day legal requirement.

Once I challenged them on this they reluctantly passed on the details via e-mail, however I believe the address is actually fake.

Please advise on my options with regards to possibly suing them - I have never done anything like this before, so I don't know where to begin or how much it would cost, or if it is a cut and dry case.

Any help would be greatly received.

Thanks so much,

Jim

Lawcruncher
30-01-2010, 20:37 PM
Do you know the address is fake?

Have you suffered any loss by reason of the agent's default? If not, you have nothing to sue for.

Failure to supply an address is though a criminal offence. If it has actually been supplied I cannot imagine that the powers that be will be interested.

westminster
30-01-2010, 20:44 PM
Hello,

First time on the forum. I am looking for some advice on my options after my estate agents failed to provide me with my landlord's name and address well after the 21 day legal requirement.

Once I challenged them on this they reluctantly passed on the details via e-mail, however I believe the address is actually fake.
Have you tried writing to the landlord or checked the land registry online?

Please advise on my options with regards to possibly suing them - I have never done anything like this before, so I don't know where to begin or how much it would cost, or if it is a cut and dry case.

If you mean bring a civil claim against the agent under s.1 Landlord & Tenant Act 1985, then forget it, unless you have suffered a significant loss as a result of being provided with a false name/address (which is unlikely) and can provide evidence to support your claim. No actual loss, no compensation.