PDA

View Full Version : Is there any reason to worry ?

magictorch1976
05-01-2010, 12:07 PM
Good afternoon all

I am not sure if this is a daft question for this forum but I thought it would be best to try and draw on people’s own experience so any advice is appreciated. I have read lots of posts on here, just for my own interest and have also asked a couple of questions in the past and found in the main, everyone is really helpful.

I have been a resident landlord and a tenant in the past. In August last year, myself and the other half decided to move in together. I was renting a house at the time and he has a flat with a mortgage that in the current climate has no hope of selling so he decided to rent that out and we are renting a house together now.

He had a tenant move in at the beginning of November last year and the let is a fully managed let through a reputable agent, (a chain as opposed to an independent – not sure if I am allowed to mention them here so I won’t for now,) but the let scheme comes with guaranteed rental payment and all the bells and whistles of the letting agent going through the court proceedings for you if needed. The agent also insists that every tenant on their books has a guarantor.

The first rental payment was slightly late due to a problem with the standing order from the tenants account but this was promptly rectified and the tenant paid I believe by credit card.

My other half confessed all to me last night that he is worried about the whole thing – the fact that the payment was late in the first place and he doesn’t know if the place is being wrecked or not until the first inspection at the end of this month. My response was that problems happen with standing orders – for instance, our own bounced in November because the funds were not transmitted from his bank account to our joint account in time but this was sorted the same day and fortunately, our own letting agent was none the wiser because we sent a same day payment.