PDA

View Full Version : Proposed T's guarantor refuses; am I obliged to let?

Jibba24
10-11-2009, 13:21 PM
Hi everyone...

I'm completely new to all this and whilst I wouldn't regard myself as a 'complete' idiot, I have done something rather silly which has put me in a difficult postion and I would be very grateful for some advice from those of you with more experience in this area than myself.

I have nearly completed the conversion and refurbishment of two cottages. The property had been converted from two mid terraced into a single property and I have now converted them back to two.

I had had meetings with a propsective tenant who whilst not providing great credit checks due to a lack of history, did have a good landlord reference and a very good guarantor (her father). We agreed to a tenancy which was to start on the 16th of this month and before I went on holiday I left with her all the relevant documents that would need signing. These included a tenancy agreement, guarantor application and agreement and a note confirming what we had agreed.

The stupid thing is a I signed the tenancy agreement!!! I have now returned from holiday to find that the father will NOT act as guarantor! I met with the prospective tenant and explained that I wouldn't be happy to proceed without this and she agreed to drop everything. However, I have today had two phone calls from the local authority threatening me and stating that since she has a signed agreement she is within her rights to move in on Monday! I have spoken to her and she again confirmed to me that she wouldn't be proceeding. The council, however, are strongly advising her that she has a legal right to the property!

The property is not yet finished as it has no heating, carpets, it still has a door through to the next door property and various electrical sockets are still to be fitted.