PDA

View Full Version : Landlord deducting deposit money for redecorating

GT28
09-11-2009, 14:02 PM
I have been renting a maisonette for the past 3 years. When I moved in, the entire place had been painted and was clean throughout.

I am moving out this weekend and my landlord has told me he will deduct redecorating costs from my deposit. The place is still in excellent condition, just a couple of marks on the walls in the kitchen and living room.

In the bathroom, the paint has started to peel from the walls due to bad ventilation, but the landlord has said it is my responsibilty to pay for this also, even though there is nothing I could have done to prevent this, especially considering normal emulsion paint was used.

Can anyone tell me if I am liable for these costs? Its seems so unreasonable.

Considering I have lived there for 3 years would this not be classed as normal wear and tear?

Thanks for any advice you can give me.

NoMoreFaith
09-11-2009, 14:18 PM
Sounds like reasonable fair wear and tear based solely upon your description of the situation.

Have you signed a new fixed term agreement after the 6th April 2007? If so, your deposit should be protected in a scheme and you can ask for the disputed amounts to go to adjudication.

Otherwise, you may have to go through small claims procedure if you do not feel the deductions are fair.

westminster
09-11-2009, 14:22 PM
Tenant is not responsible for fair wear and tear, such as the small marks and scrapes to the decor which occur during normal everyday occupation, therefore, you are not liable for the cost of redecoration.

You are liable for any actual damage caused by accident or through negligence etc. but I don't think the peeling paint in the shower room can be classed as this in the circumstances.

GT28
09-11-2009, 14:37 PM
Thank you for your replies.