PDA

View Full Version : DPS advice

Lana83
09-11-2009, 12:10 PM
Hello,

I am quite new to the DPS and therefore would like to ask for the advice before chosing the scheme. I am letting on room by room basis and have various length of the contracts starting from 3 to 12 months. Some of the houses I am now managing on behalf of the landlord and he/she are not involved in the whole process at all.

I am trying to to establish the scheme wich will be more efficient, cost effectiveand fair in judgements. Currently I am reading through the rules of mydeposits.co... and the gist I am getting is that landlord is on the wrong side even before the dispute arises. Is this the stance with all the schemes?

One of the rules state that I must be the owner of the property and I am not sure how to act in respect of the properties I manage as the LL is never involved in any of the paperwork and the contract is between my company and the T. Can I still register these properties under my name?

Also how necessary is it to hold the money in the client account? Some of the deposits could be in the current account, so is it likely that I will be checked?

Please help me as I am getting more and more confused now.

westminster
09-11-2009, 18:39 PM
I can't be of much help as my letting agent deals with deposit protection, but here's as much as I know...

I am trying to to establish the scheme wich will be more efficient, cost effectiveand fair in judgements. Currently I am reading through the rules of mydeposits.co... and the gist I am getting is that landlord is on the wrong side even before the dispute arises. Is this the stance with all the schemes?
Generally, the consensus on this forum is not to use schemes' adjudication service to settle disputes as they all appear to favour the tenant. The schemes claim that LLs often fail to provide sufficient evidence to support their deductions, however.