PDA

View Full Version : How are reasonable repairs defined?

Doxie
09-11-2009, 08:54 AM
I have been renting a flat from a private landlady for 2 years now. The flat had been in a relatively bad state of repair before I moved in (water damage to the walls in the bedroom, cracks in the walls). She initially promised to redecorate the bedroom prior to me moving in but did not do it and assured me that the cracks were not structural damage and hence nothing to worry about.

She now has decided to schedule renovation works to the flat which will go on for 2 weeks (4 days living room, 4 days bedroom, 2 days each for kitchen and bathroom) without agreeing the dates with me and only giving me 1 month's notice of the planned work. While living and bedroom undergo renovation, they will basically not be usable. The builders claim that the flat will be livable in while work is ongoing.

My landlady is expecting me to pay rent for the 2 weeks which I am obviously not happy about as these works will massively inconvenience me. She insists that I may pay 50% of the rent but only for those days out of the 2 weeks that I will actually be in London for (I am going on a business trip for 2x 2 days during the period and she knows that).

She furthermore refuses to insure my belongings in the flat or provide me with a written confirmation that she will cover any loss or damage to my belongings.

My questions are:

Could such extensive renovation work even be defined as reasonable repairs to the flat and do I hence have to put up with them or is this already beyond reasonable?
If these works go ahead against my will, do I have to pay rent for these 2 weeks and if so, how much?

How can I get her to provide me with written evidence that my belongings have been properly insured for the 2 weeks?

johnjw
09-11-2009, 09:32 AM