PDA

View Full Version : New windows- Vents needed as we have gas bolier?

gemsu32
08-11-2009, 17:01 PM
Hi every one! i hope you can help!!

Basically i rent a cottage and currently the landlord is fitting new double glazed windows and doors. The windows DO NOT have the vents to allow air through as we have a gas boiler which is run by two gas bottles outside the property. What are the regulations according to the vents/gas etc as he is already half way through fitting them!!

Many thanks in advance!!:o

subjecttocontract
08-11-2009, 17:16 PM
I'm not an expert, hopefully one will be along shortly but my understanding, which is broadly based on common sense, is that if the boiler has a balanced flue ie draws air in from outside, burns gas/air and then exhausts the gas outside then you don't need vents.

If your boiler does not have a balanced flue &/or you have a gas fire with open flame that requires air to work then you need a vent. If suitable sized vents are not built into the windows then a wall vent would need to be installed.

jta
08-11-2009, 17:26 PM
If it's a 'modern' water heater, then it probably has a CO safety cutout built into it. That would cause it to shut down if there was any buildup of gases. Not something I would want to rely on though. Insist on a wall vent at least.

Ericthelobster
08-11-2009, 17:27 PM
I'm not an expert either, but I concur with STC. Basically to be sure, you need to consult the installation instructions for your boiler to obtain the ventilation requirements. Modern boilers are normally the balanced flue type but it's certainly not something you can just assume.

Try the boiler manufacturer's website if you don't have the instructions.

That said, if the original windows didn't have any specific vents, and if you have a valid landlord's gas certificate for the property, it would be logical that any replacement unvented windows would be OK too.