PDA

View Full Version : Possession order - absent tenant

private LL
03-11-2009, 01:05 AM
I'm a newbie private LL. I rent out a basement flat in the house where I live (but a self-contained flat, so I don't think I'm a resident LL). 6mth AST from 26-1-09, so now periodic. Ts are a foreign student and his girlfriend. Both Ts vanished early September (based on own knowledge, as I can hear them when they're around, as well as see through the windows) and stopped paying rent. Now 2 mths in arrears. But all their stuff remains in the flat, and mail for them is still arriving, including bank statements and the like (this I know because it is often put through my door by mistake).

I suspect T has gone back home, and either decided to stay or run into trouble with his immigration status and not been able to return. My first newbie mistake was I didn't confirm immigration status or student enrolment, and as there was never any sign of him studying, I suspect he may have been an overstayer. My second mistake was that I didn't do a proper application form to get alternative contact details. I have an email address and mobile number, but the phone is off and he's not replying to any messages.

From other posts here on abandonment, it looks like I'm on weak ground to treat the flat as abandoned, unless I hear something explicit from them. So, I guess I'll give them a section 8 notice and start a PCOL in 14 days.

Two questions.
(1) Given that I know for certain they aren't there, is putting the documents through the door sufficient for valid service of the notice?