PDA

View Full Version : LL unprotected deposit before tenancy ended

westminster
28-10-2009, 14:49 PM
I received the following message in my private inbox. Am reprinting here so that everyone can view and comment:

I am an accidental landlord (a complete novice) and decided at the end of last month I didn't really enjoy being a landlord and that I wanted to sell up. I went to see my tenant and informed her of my plans, she was happy enough and said that she had guessed anyway.

Within a week she informed me that she had found somewhere else to live and that she needed the deposit back asap because she was moving out. I informed her that it was lodged with the DPS and that I would investigate how to get the money released as it was a completely new process to me also. I rang the DPS and explained the situation and they suggested to me that I request the money be returned to me and that I advise my tenant of the same. That way she wouldn't have to wait 2 weeks from the end of her tenancy to get her money. I rang my tenant and emphasised that it was her choice but that this is what had been advised to me over the phone. She told me that she was more than happy to do this as she would be leaving the property before the end of the lease and that she'd had to borrow the money of other people.

I haven't badgered her at all other than to say that I am expecting the house back in the condition that she took it over in according to the inventory.

She has already informed the council that she is no longer living there and passed on responsibility for the council tax to me - I have sorted this and now have the house listed as vacant and hence exempt from tax however, she also informed the water supply company and intended that I should pay for the bill - once again I have informed them that she does not intend to give me back the keys until Thursday of this week and they will be adjusting her bill accordingly.