PDA

View Full Version : Go it alone for first time landlord?

Shadowcat
21-10-2009, 20:09 PM
Hi everyone, I have been a live-in-'landlord'(kind of) before but not done the whole shorthold tenancy agreemant routine before.... I have talked with many agents and have a good idea of the income and fees I can expect... But I'm wondering if agents fees of 8% for collection etc are OK or if I should just go it alone?

Would it be better getting an agent for the first time just get started and learn the ropes? Any advice is much appreciated!

jeffrey
22-10-2009, 11:53 AM
At LZ, we see almost every DiY first-time landlord come unstuck. Don't.

Shadowcat
22-10-2009, 15:33 PM
Short and to the point. Thankyou.

So its best just to slowly get into it, let agents handle things then just learn more?

dominic
22-10-2009, 15:35 PM

That said, I did it, and have not regretted it one little bit.

But...:

a. I am a lawyer; and
b. I live 100yrds from the property.

mind the gap
22-10-2009, 15:43 PM
[QUOTE=dominic;166018]That said, I did it, and have not regretted it one little bit.

[QUOTE]

Moi aussi.

And (as well as being Australian :D), I love making order out of chaos and I wield a mean sink plunger. You may find this useful:

http://www.landlordzone.co.uk/forums/search.php?searchid=1347914

westminster
22-10-2009, 15:44 PM
Would it be better getting an agent for the first time just get started and learn the ropes? Any advice is much appreciated!
Best to use an agent first time. There are a lot of legalities, and a lot of potential pitfalls for the inexperienced LL. Choose a long-established firm which belongs to one of the main agents associations, and one which protects their clients money.

Reading this forum is a very good way to learn the ropes. Also the Shelter website is an excellent source of information. http://england.shelter.org.uk/

And if any problems arise, ask immediately on the forum - don't wait till the problem gets worse.