PDA

View Full Version : Renting from someone with power of attorney-other complications...advice needed!!

Danni19
21-10-2009, 10:05 AM
Hello everyone,

Someone from another forum recommended this site as somewhere good to get advice from tenants, landlords and solicitors, so here it goes. also, i have no experience of renting property apart from student rooms

My friend/boss and her husband have power of attorney of a mans assets who is 95 years old and in palliative care, he will not be recovering or coming home. He is adamant that he wants all furniture to remain in the flat as well as his cat (i think the idea of it all being there keeps him going). Now my boss goes in there twice a day to check property and feed cat which she doesnt really have time for. She suggested that i could move into the flat as it would make sense to have the place lived in and have company for this cat. originally we all agreed that we would have a proper AST etc, the old man is in agreement. However, some distant relatives (who have had nothing to do with this man for the last 30 years) have started taking an interest in his 'welfare'. the man is fully aware of the fact that they are gold digging. the flat is all ready to be let, except for the electrics which are safe but dated. they told me that to have it all legal with AST they would be required to have the appropriate safety certificates and if they were seen to be getting maintainence work done so that they could let the property, these relatives may have a case to accuse them of using the man's money for their own gains. does this all sound right?

So, they have suggested that i move in without an AST. They dont want to make any money out of it, they just want my rent to cover council tax and i would pay my own utility bills etc.

i have a few more options ie i could get written consent from the man saying he is happy that im there looking after place and cat. i could also get the same from them.