PDA

View Full Version : Finding a flat to rent on low income/LHA

daniel3982
07-09-2009, 18:23 PM
Hi,

I'm moving to a new town and starting a new part-time job at a college as well as a part-time degree and so need to find somewhere to live!

As I'm only studying part-time student properties seem to be off the menu due to council tax reasons (I am eligable for paying it still), plus I'm 27 so the idea of living with loads of drunken teenagers doesn't really appeal!

As I'm going to be on a low income (£330 a month), I'm not going to pass any letting agents referencing checks in a hurry! However I will be eligable for LHA as I'm only studying part-time.

The thing is I've heard it is an absolute nightmare trying to get a place if you utter those dreaded words "DSS".

Thing is I have my deposit and first months rent saved up no problem, and will have a stable income coming in, as well as getting the £92 a week from the DSS once the claim goes through so paying the rents not going to be a problem at all (I'm used to living off a small budget, and am doing this to get the degree not to be out partying all the time!).

Thing is how on earth do I go about finding a landlord willing to take me? It's not a major city I'll be living in (instead a small Northern city), so it's not like there's a load of options!

Everything else is all worked out, but finding somewhere to live is prooving more of a challenge which is annoying as financially I can easily make it work!

Put my name down on the council housing list, but all of the places there seem to be for people over 35+ so I'd be waiting 20 years before I get anywhere with them I imagine!

worriedstudent87
07-09-2009, 20:00 PM
Which place? I'm in same position but have found somewhere which right now I am only tenant but I get the CT benefit paid and told I owe no more but its great to have another tenant for company.