PDA

View Full Version : tenants want some furnishings removed

bragas266
17-08-2009, 18:44 PM
Hi everyone and thanks in advance to anyone who can help.
I've recently moved home to Ireland although my property is in England and with a tenant agent.
I'm new to all this.....another accidental landlord who would have preferred to sell but who had to move home with no sale.
I've signed up for full management, will have to add to the rental income to the tune of about £80 a month to cover my costs and have taken out Landlord's Insurance too......
It's really starting to seem like more bother than it's worth! Certainly financially it's not ideal but I guess it's better than leaving the place empty while it languishes on the market for another few months/years.
Anyway, the issue is that tenants have moved in and the tenant agents have contacted me saying the tenants want two wardrobes and one mattress removed, as they have their own.
My only way of arranging this would be to ring a buy-and-sell furniture man and get them to do it, probably for free.
I'm reluctant to do this because theoretically in six months time, the tenants might well leave and my new tenants would expect this part-furnished flat to contain at least one wardrobe per room and a mattress on each of the two beds, right?
The last thing I want to be doing is getting rid of perfectly good furniture and then having to replace it (which would also be difficult since I'm in a different country) in six months time.
I feel like I left the flat in pristine condition and with only the bare essentials in it, and that it meets what future tenants might expect in a part-furnished property.
On the other hand, obviously I want to be reasonable to the tenants and understand they want to make the place their own......
Any thoughts?
Should I say the flat is, and remains as they signed for it and that I want to keep the funrnishings as they are?