PDA

View Full Version : Leaving A Property Early

g_conaty
28-03-2006, 22:05 PM
Hello

I have been renting a property for the past 3 months and have recenlty been offered a job which will require me to move away from the area. I am currently in a 12 month contract and so will be making enquiries in order to try and get out of the contract which i know will be difficult.

I dont think the landlord will cut the contract short so thats a bit of a no go, however, i do have some issues whereby i bleieve the landlord may have breached the tenenacy agreement.

I have never met the landlord and have never even managed to contact him as his telephone is constantly switched off. Last month all of the electricity went off and i was stuck in the pitch black for almost 8hrs with no heating, hot water, lighting or anything. Eventually i was able to get through to the lettign company who came out and sorted the problem for me. They assured me the landlord would contact me to discuss the incident but i still have never heard anythign from him.

Alongside this, on moving into the property i was informed that the electricity meters for the property had been mixed up with a number of other properties an the landlord woudl be sorting this out in order to arrange meter readings. 3 months down the line i still havent received an electricity bill and as far as i know i could end up receiving a bill and paying for the months before i moved into the building as a meter reading was never taken on me moving in. Not only this but it coudl actually be that i end up being charged for someone elses electricity becaus eof the problem.

Lastly, a couple of weeks ago the landlord turned up unanounced asking to see the conditon of the property. Is this allowable? I let him into the property but later found out that he may of infact been in breach of the agreement by just turning up on the door step.