PDA

View Full Version : Deposit deductions - several queries (long post)

sebb
21-03-2006, 12:21 PM
I left a 2 bedroom unfurnished flat I had been renting for 2 years in August last year and the deposit is still in dispute. They are asking for £550 of deductions which I think is unreasonable. It also took them 2 months to give us this estimate (originally over £650 but got some off) and it was 3 months before i recieved the undisputed amount.

The inventory at check in stated that the carpets were in excellent condition (and marked as 1 on a scale of 1 - 7) . They had been professionally cleaned on entry. On exit they were marked as a good (condition 2) with no marks or stains.

The curtains were marked as condition 2 (originally 1) with a comment "linings dusty/ landlords discretion"

The overall condition of the flat was marked as good with a few "needs a light clean" comments eg on the doors and skirting. We had spent a long time cleaning it before we left.

They had the flat professsionally cleaned, the carpets all cleaned and 3 sets of curtains dry cleaned for which we were charged £460.

There was a professional cleaning clause in the original contract which we specifically asked them to remove before we would sign it which they did.

There was also a small purple stain on the kitchen lino which was our fault - a cheap plastic bag moulded itself to the lino and wouldnt come off. The mark was about 1cm in diameter and not in an obvious place. The lino is in good condition but is clearly more than 5 years old. It is a small kitchen and the area is around 2 square meters if even that. They have asked for £140.