PDA

View Full Version : Penalised for late rent payments; guarantor demanded

willj23
19-03-2006, 01:21 AM
Can anyone help me out with my situation?

Im a student, who in August 05 took out a year long tenancy agreement with 3 other people for a private let property complete (agreement included having a guarentor).
I moved in to the property at the end of September 05 but due to unforseen circumstances i changed universitys and moved out of the property after just 2 weeks of living there. (I left the property in the same condition it was in, when i moved in).

Since then, i have paid the monthly rent of £300 on the property.
Due to financial restraints i missed a few payments in December and January and as such was charged a £15 "admin" charge by the landlord who sent letters requesting payment. After a couple of weeks i was threatened with court action.

I have tried to resolve this issue, by finding suitable replacements to which i found a few people, but the existing tenants refused to show them around (i was unable to at short notice as i live 2 hours away).

I paid the rent up until Febuary, and now find myself in the situation where the landlord is asking for Febuary and March rent, and will soon be asking for April, but i simply cant afford to pay it!
I have wrote to the landlord twice, offering to end the contract by offering £800 (plus my original £300 desposit) which was rejected, to which i offered a improved offer of £1000 (plus the deposit of £300).

As the contract is for a year the last rent payment is July 06, which totals to a total of £1800. The last month is supposed to be covered by the £300 deposit which is equal to a months rent.

I am aware that i do have a contract, there are a few issues that i have: