PDA

View Full Version : Rent increase.How much notice?

jango
14-03-2006, 01:38 AM
Hello, newbie here :)

Last Friday my landlady turned up to collect the rent and told me the rent was going to be increased from 1st April. I thought she had to give me two months notice if she was going to increase the rent.

I've lived here 5 years and in all that time she has never put the rent up before. It is currently £350 pcm and she has put it up to £475 pcm. She says she has put it up so much because it hasn't been increased for 5 years.

I am now expected to find another £125 for 1st April. Surely this isn't right?

I'd be grateful for any advice because I am worried sick. TIA

Ericthelobster
14-03-2006, 08:34 AM
Assuming you have a normal periodic tenancy agreement, then 1 month's notice is correct I'm afraid. However, she needs to provide you with written notice as a legal form (tell her it's called Section 13(2) Notice of the Housing Act 1988), which sets out her and your obligations and furthermore, explains how you can refer the matter to the rent tribunal, and get a fair rent assessed, if you disagree with it.

I think the key point for you to consider is whether you think the new rent is actually realistic or not, in comparison with other similar properties for rent in your area. If it is, then it may seem unfair that she wants to wack the rent up so much, and it's certainly lousy landlording, but there's no reason why she can't. It represents an increase of about, what, 7-8% per year for the time you've been there, which is certainly more than inflation, but maybe it reflects local rents? Consider how would you be feeling now if she had been increasing the rent regularly for all this time - would you still be feeling hard done by? (Maybe you would, justifiably - I don't know).

Finally, you ought to remember that (again, assuming you're on a standard periodic AST agreement) your landlady can give you 2 months' notice to quit without any reason at all.

caroline7758