PDA

View Full Version : Lower flat's ceiling damaged- leak from my bathroom

mattl2
05-07-2009, 14:48 PM
I have landlord insurance as I rent out my flat to two students. Unknown to all of us there has been a small water drip in the bathroom over a period of time that has resulted in a part of the neighbour’s ceiling below caving in. Who is responsible for the repair – me or my neighbour’s insurance company?

mind the gap
05-07-2009, 15:02 PM
I have landlord insurance as I rent out my flat to two students. Unknown to all of us there has been a small water drip in the bathroom over a period of time that has resulted in a part of the neighbour’s ceiling below caving in. Who is responsible for the repair – me or my neighbour’s insurance company?
What does your lease have to say about it? Are you and your neighbour not insured by the same company?

All other things being equal, I would have thought it was your responsibility, but I am not an expert. It might be worth re-posting this in 'Insurance Questions'.

mattl2
05-07-2009, 15:08 PM

Paragon
05-07-2009, 15:51 PM
report it to both your insurance companies and they will sort it out.

jeffrey
05-07-2009, 17:53 PM
If it's a flat, what about the block's property insurance policy? Liaise with freehold reversioner, L, or Managing agent of block.

ashburnham
06-07-2009, 11:07 AM
It is assumed that there is one building insurance covering the whole property in which case it is this one company that is claimed from as there is no one else involved.

In the unlikely event that insurance has been arranged separately for each flat then it is the downstairs flat that needs to make a claim on their own insurance as it is damage to their property.