PDA

View Full Version : Can lawyers be honourable?

Lawcruncher
03-07-2009, 09:23 AM
TC2009 said:

I'm no lawyer (I am far too honourable for that profession)

Why is there a general perception that lawyers cannot be honourable?

jeffrey
03-07-2009, 09:37 AM
American 'ambulance-chasing' exponents, leading to UK "Have you been hurt? Claim big damages on no-win-no-fee basis" advertisements.

mind the gap
03-07-2009, 10:04 AM
TC2009 said:

Does TC2009's comment amount to a 'general perception'?

I don't think there is a general perception.

mind the gap
03-07-2009, 11:15 AM
Actually, I'll qualify that. I don't think there is a general perception that they are dishonourable. There may be general perception that they charge excessively for some of the things they do, relative to charges for services requiring equivalent training, knowledge, skill and experience which are offered in other professions.

agent46
03-07-2009, 11:32 AM
TC2009 said:

(1) Because it is a lazy knee-jerk stereotype which makes the person repeating it feel good about themselves..

(2) Because lay people generally do not understand and are frightened of the law (and by extension, lawyers).

(3) Because lay people are not aware of, or do not understand the rules of professional ethics that bind lawyers. In particular they do not understand that lawyers act on instructions and are professionally bound to accept their client's version of events at face value, they do not understand the absolute neccessity for the "cab rank rule" at the Bar (which ensures representation for anyone, no matter how disreputable), they are usually astonished by the requirements with respect to the disclosure of evidence to the other side, and they do not understand the lawyer's duty to not to mislead the Court.