PDA

View Full Version : Lodger Surrender Issue

Terri
31-03-2009, 13:39 PM
I am due to move out of a room I have been renting in my landlady's home this weekend. I have had exclusive occupation of the room, with a requirement for the landlady to provide 72 hours written notice if she wishes to inspect the room, have had the right to refuse entry without this notice or to reschedule the inspection to a day and time which suits me and must be present at any inspection (all laid out in the contract), but I must allow inspections to occur provided the above is fulfilled (this also applies to viewings for re-letting). My contract is a mish-mash of an AST agreement and the landlady's own clauses. As such, I am not sure if I am a lodger or an excluded occupier (not sure if this affects my issue below).

I have two issues :

1. I gave a month's written notice of my intention to end the contract, given on 09.03.09, so the last day of my occupation is 09.04.09. I informed my landlady that I would move out on 04.04.09 and 05.04.09 but would pay the rent up to 09.04.09. My rent is due (pro rata) on 01.04.09 but my landlady has now informed me that someone will be moving into my room on 06.04.09. I was hoping to keep the room for an extra few days in case there were problems with moving out (I am relying on friends for transport). As she has effectively broken the contract by renting my room out before I have surrendered it can I still be held responsible for the rent for those days or am I only liable for rent up until 06.04.09? (I know it is only a few days but I have had numerous problems with this woman and dislike the idea of her having more of my money than she has the right to).