PDA

View Full Version : Fastest route for eviction of tenants?

kirsty20
26-03-2009, 18:06 PM
Hi everyone,
My tenant is more than 2 months in arrears with his rent. I have served section 8, grounds 8, 10 and 11. If he does not move out in 14 days I know I have to fill in forms N5 and N119.
My priority is to get him out ASAP and deal with the rent arrears later at a small claims court.
As I am new to this can you tell me the quickest way to proceed preferably without having to go to court?
On form N119 section 10, is it best to just tick a) and d) asking for possession and costs?
If I tick b) or c) will that mean there has to be a court hearing?

Many thanks in advance for any help.

Paul Gibbs
26-03-2009, 18:14 PM
if using a s8 notice for possession there will almost always be at least one court hearing possibly two!

You might be able to serve a s21 notice but that must run for 2 months. Once it expires you can use the accelerated court procedure. Look at other threads on this.

You need to work out when the notice can expire - when did the current tenancy agreement start and how long was it expressed to last for?

johnboy
26-03-2009, 18:38 PM
If you are doing the s8 you will have to go to court. A section 21 unless defended and you wont.

kirsty20
26-03-2009, 19:29 PM
Thank you Paul and Johnboy for your replies.

The tenancy began on 27th July 2008, it is a 12 month ast with a fixed period of 6 months. Can I serve s21 at the same time as s8?

For the s8, would it make any difference to the speed of proceedings if I ask for possession, costs and unpaid rent, or should I just ask for possession?
I believe my tenant had been receiving housing benefit and keeping it for himself, I cannot find out for sure as Lambeth coucil have refused to give me any information.

Many thanks.

johnboy
26-03-2009, 22:28 PM