PDA

View Full Version : Joint tenants: UK national and Hungarian national?

paul19832
23-03-2009, 14:19 PM
I am currently considering moving in with my partner into a one or two bedroom apartment in the near future.
I am a 25 year old professional with good income and an excellent credit history, she is a 20 year old student from Hungary due to start a masters course at Cardiff. She will have a limited or no credit history due to residence with parents in Hungary, and has only been in the UK for 6 months, so does not count yet as a UK resident (Hungary is in the EU so she is ok to be here.)

The following ways of allowing us to share a property (as far as I can tell) are:

-Let the property under my name only and be completely liable, possibly rendering her occupation of the property illegal and also affording her no rights whatsoever, in addition there will be a ‘black hole’ in her credit history here where she is at no fixed address.

-Is there any way that a tenancy agreement can be made that allows me to be solely liable for all rent/costs whilst still naming her as a tenant? I.e. if she leaves then I am completely liable, which is fine. I can establish privately how we split the rent and costs.

- Or is there a way that the tenancy agreement can be made that fixes the contribution that we both make to the rent formally, with us both jointly and severally liable if either one leaves, so a sort of customised Joint tenancy agreement? Taking into the account that she has no credit history apart from confirmed income from the student loans company.

Any feedback would be appreciated, including if I’m totally going up the wrong way here!

Poppy
23-03-2009, 14:38 PM
It’s not illegal for tenants to have guests.