PDA

View Full Version : Shorthold Agreement, should I b worried

allyt
06-02-2009, 12:42 PM
Hello, I wondered if anyone has general advice about the following: my tenant paid one month then changed his date from7th to 25th. I made him pay the difference. Sincethen he has become rather awkward. He runs a business from the address but denies it, he does not respond to my emails or letters, he does not want me to inspect the premises as he feels it is an invasion of his privacy. He will not give me details of his second reference which I asked for before the let started in November 07 when he said he would forward them to me. He seems a bit evasive and has lied about his previous address. The let will end on 6 November this year. He thinks I am a nuisance and says he has had very successful lets where nobody bothered him. All I have asked to do is separate some plants in the garden. Wondered if any of this could lead to problems.
As you have probably gathered I am very new to this.
Any help very much appreciated
Thanks

PaulF
06-02-2009, 13:09 PM
Further information:

Please confirm actual start date for tenancy, was it November 2007, and for a fixed term of 2 years? The day the tenant pays rent can be different from the day it is due if you have agreed to this, but doesn't alter the contractual obligation as to the due date. Don't you agree it was rather premature to allow a tenant to take up occupation before you had obtained all relevant paperwork? You have an implied right of entry to inspect for repairs etc. but still cannot enter uninvited.

allyt
07-02-2009, 13:54 PM