PDA

View Full Version : Housemate has swapped rooms without my approval.

jdarbyshire
30-01-2009, 11:06 AM
Hi guys,

I'm currently in a lease, which I signed in July 2008, the term ends in July 2009, with an 8 month "Early determination" clause (included in quotes below). The lease is signed with all of the housemates on one contract. However I have a few problems...

I went away for a month over Christmas and whilst I was away my house mate decided that he no longer liked the small room which he chose in the first place, moved my stuff into that room and moved his stuff into my room. I am now back and I cannot live in this room as I am a university student and need space to do my work.

I've asked him to move back into that room, but he has refused and has said that he will never move. I offered to compromise and said that he could have the room after I had finished my degree (in a couple of months) but he refused that - so I think I have been more than reasonable.

As a result I wish to terminate my contract, and am looking at any way possible. I've spoken to a few people and they have suggested:

Use the early determination clause and provide notice of my wish to vacate as of 2 months from today. This would be ideal, however as all 3 of us are on the same lease do we all need to agree to vacate, or can I individually decide to vacate and leave them with the lease?
Give my wish to vacate to the other tenants and the property manager, pay up for 2 months and then stop paying - leaving the outstanding rent for the other house mates. Is this legal?
Find someone to let my room and have their name put into the lease and mine removed. Going to be hard because it is now a small room I am trrying to lease!!

Please help!! I need to get out as I can't live there and it's costing me nearly 700 pounds per month to be somewhere I can't live!

EARLY DETERMINATION
12.1 The Tenant may end the Term by giving to the Landlord not less than two