PDA

View Full Version : Lodger's serious rent arrears and damage; evict him?

remyrobson
23-01-2009, 21:21 PM
Hi, I'm a newbie on here and I need another perspective on my problem.
My hubby and I have 2 properties, one which is exclusively for investment and one which we live in a have 3 lodgers to share the bills.

One of the lodgers has been here for 2 1/2 years and we did get on until I finally blew a fuse at him because I'm always cleaning up after him and he seems to have no respect for our home, treating it like a student doss. He has avoided me ever since but his behaviour hasn't improved. The bathroom is frankly embarrasing; in fact one of the other lodgers, a lovely clean girl, has left because she had to share it with him (we have our own en-suite). The stair carpet has recently been replaced because the old one was threadbare. When the new new carpet was fitted I politely
aked all lodgers to take shoes off in the house to protect new carpet and there is a shoe rack provided. Annoying lodger always trudges in with his biker books on and traipses mud and in one case dog poo up the stairs. His excuse is "I forgot" so I put a big bold sign on the stairs to remind him when he comes in, messiness persisted. Now he has polished his biker boots and not buffed them properly because there are size 10 boot prints in black polish all the way down the stairs!
My hubby asked him to clean it, he said he would and over a week later has rubbed one patch with a damp cloth, smudged it and now claims he's cleaned it!
He is also over £1000 overdue with his rent (he pays £120pcm) and £250 overdue with bills. We have been nice until now as he was unemployed for a couple of months after graduation, but he has bought a new motorbike, leathers and an iphone recently, and only paid £300 rent in 10 weeks. Should we cut our losses and find a new tenant? Should he pay to clean the new carpet? Advice would be appreciated!

Thanks, Anna :)

mind the gap
23-01-2009, 21:27 PM