PDA

View Full Version : Gas/Plumbing Insurance

creditcrunch
22-01-2009, 10:37 AM
Please help. I am new to renting and letting out my house as I have been unable to sell and need to move with work. The reference check, contracts and inventory have all been completed satisfactorily. The estate agents were quoting a rip-off fee to manage the property and I have decided not to go via their managed route and deal with any problems myself. I would like to take out a maintainance contract as I am abroad quite often. Can I ask the tenant to register for homeserve/homecare and then reimburse them. If there is no way around this then I will pay the "landlord" rates these companies offer but I am trying to avoid paying yet more rip-off fees to a GCH/Plumbing maintainance company for exactly the same product simply because I am a landlord.
Any advice or comments would be appreciated.

mind the gap
22-01-2009, 10:47 AM
Please help. I am new to renting and letting out my house as I have been unable to sell and need to move with work. The reference check, contracts and inventory have all been completed satisfactorily. The estate agents were quoting a rip-off fee to manage the property and I have decided not to go via their managed route and deal with any problems myself. I would like to take out a maintainance contract as I am abroad quite often. Can I ask the tenant to register for homeserve/homecare and then reimburse them. If there is no way around this then I will pay the "landlord" rates these companies offer but I am trying to avoid paying yet more rip-off fees to a GCH/Plumbing maintainance company for exactly the same product simply because I am a landlord.
Any advice or comments would be appreciated.