PDA

View Full Version : New landlord seeks advice on first letting

lowrob
21-01-2009, 10:50 AM
Hi
As the thread title suggests, I have never been a landlord before but will shortly be moving out of my house (moving into boyfriend's house) and want to rent my house out.

I have a mortgage and think I'm allowed to rent my house out for no more than 6 months at a time but will double check that with my mortgage provider.

I'm looking for any advice at all really... no idea where to start!

I'm planning on removing my furniture from the house and then getting some local letting agents to take a look around and let me know what service they provide for how much etc.

I'm going to rent the house out unfurnished but with white goods (fridge, freezer, cooker, washing machine) as these were in the house when I bought it and where I'm moving to already has these items.

Sorry if I sound a bit clueless - I am new to this :D

jeffrey
21-01-2009, 10:53 AM
There are 8489 threads on this Forum alone! Given your inexperience, and the myriad problems which the threads contain [read 'em, if you don't believe me!], I'd suggest that you need a competent Letting Agent to deal with this for you.

PaulF
21-01-2009, 15:50 PM
Also it should be one that's regulated!

mind the gap
21-01-2009, 15:52 PM
Also it should be one that's regulated!

A tablespoon of bran, daily, is the answer!

mind the gap
21-01-2009, 15:59 PM
go through the forum topics that can show you the real way for a solution.

Ignore spammy stuff like the above, in other words.

MSB
21-01-2009, 16:08 PM