PDA

View Full Version : is my landlord being serious?

joeainscow
16-01-2009, 20:09 PM
Hi.
I'm a first year student at Lancaster Uni and currently looking to arrange a house for next year. A third year "rep" (someone who looks after and helps 1st year students) said he's found a house and needed a deposit off me and my 5 friends for £150 each. We all sent the cheques and heard nothing else for a week even though i asked for receipt to be posted back to me. I sent a prepaid addressed envelope.

I started to fear the worse and decided that the house may be a dead end and have signed up for a different house and signed the contract. I informed the letting firm from the original house that i no longer was interested in there property. There response was that i had entered into a contract with them and therefore would have to pay a years rent. I was then told that if i didn't legal action would be taken against me.

This is the first time i've had anything to do with property and my knowledge of the law is very poor. All i know is that i saw no paper work what so ever, not even for the deposit as he told me that amount over the phone and i certainly haven't signed anything.

Please could someone clarify where i stand in regards to this and if i can get my deposit back?

Many Thanks
Joe

jta
16-01-2009, 20:34 PM
If you have not signed a contract and have not entered the house there can be no tenancy. They are trying it on. Demand your money back, if you do not get it in seven days start an online claim for it.

mind the gap
16-01-2009, 20:45 PM