PDA

View Full Version : Reasonable returns advice

darwinsfoot
09-12-2005, 23:12 PM
Hi,

I am new to buy-to-let as have been just developing properties the last two years, but now wish to explore other avenues.

A couple of months ago I was watching something on buy-to-let and one guy was saying he doesn't buy a property for rental unless the yearly rental income will be a minimum of 12% of the value of the property (and not just the mortgage). I live in the south-east (Surrey) and can't find any properties that would give returnsanything even remotely like this. Is this an unreasonably high expectation or am I just not looking hard enough? What sort of return is reasonable?

Say, for example, I had £50k cash to put in as 25% on a £200k property so had a mortgage of £150k. What sort of yearly return would some of you experienced buy-to-letters settle for? Is it a case of as long as the rent will cover mortgage costs, insurance, any estate agent fees etc then it is worth doing? I am still relatively young so am looking very much for long term investment and am not interested in making a fast buck.

Any help would be much appreciated as I am on the cusp of entering the market...

Nick

MrShed
10-12-2005, 00:16 AM
My three small thoughts(just my personal opinion):

- The % of value of property(the yield) is more a measure of how strong the rental market is in a particular area than anything, or so I thought. Obviously it is always better to have a higher yield, but it is not the be all and end all.

- Much more important is your actual % above how much you are paying out(as you seem to indicate). Most BTL mortgage lenders stipulate that you must make 125% in rent compared to the mortgage payment - this would seem to be a good basis to start on.