PDA

View Full Version : whose side are letting agents on

nellenjo
22-11-2005, 09:06 AM
Hi
Advice needed…
I have been renting my house out for over 2 years through a letting agent having moved in with my partner. We are now at the stage where I’m ready to sell my house.

I finally got my last lot of tenants out last week – they’d had a 6mts assured tenancy and despite me telling the Letting Agent in July (2 mts before the end of the AT) I was selling it, he sneaked in without telling me monthly tenancies until I insisted on notice being given.

My rent has always been 2-3 weeks late firstly the LA said they’d problems setting up the standing order – but from what the LA has since said they never had one.

My house was an absolute tip when they left – it took three cleaners a over a day to clean.

Household items were taken - microwave, 2 phones, lamps, computer desk, pictures, etc

The rent hasn’t yet been paid – this and the cleaning should come out of the deposit.

I’ve changed the locks.

I rang the insurance company that the LA ties you into – to find that I couldn’t claim for the loss/theft of my possessions or for changing the locks. What is the point of having building and contents ins if I can’t claim on it?

The gas and electricity have threatened to cut supplies off for non payment of their bills.

The letting Agent doesn’t seem to be chasing up my possessions – he said they were returning them yesterday – I rang y’day and he said he hadn’t been able to contact them – I feel fobbed off by the LA.

I’m annoyed at the sloppy and unprofessional attitude of the letting agent – I don’t now think they did financial checks on these tenants. They seem to want to take the management fee and do nothing.

What can I do???
Should I complain, and to whom would I complain to??
Is this a police matter?

caroline7758
22-11-2005, 09:17 AM