PDA

View Full Version : Help needed with bad tenants!

sally_baker
28-04-2008, 17:15 PM
Any help on this subject would be greatly appreciated as i am new to all this.

Heres my problem....I rented out my house for the first time to a family last year, they had a 12 month AST which then went onto a rolling tenancy a few months ago. About 3 months ago i decided to put my house on the market and told the tenants of my intentions although didn't put anything in writing (i wanted to find a buyer first) The tenants themselves then gave me 1 months notice in writing and expressed that they were very upset with having to move out (i had told them they could stay for the minimum of 2 years when they first came to me, which they said i had gone back on, but as this was just verbal im not sure that makes much difference)

They then stopped paying me any rent and said they needed to keep it for moving out and i should just take the money from their deposit! They are currently over 8 weeks in arrears and have now told me they are not moving out on the date THEY gave to me as the house they had lined up has fallen through. I not only want them out as soon as possible but i also want the money they owe me. They are on housing benefit so i have called the council and am now having the rent paid directly to me, but want to know what is the best and QUICKEST way of getting them out.

Because they have given me notice does this still mean i have to issue them the section 21 papers or can i just go straight ahead and go to court to get them out?

Thanks in advance, Sally

Colincbayley
28-04-2008, 17:18 PM
Two ways to evict a tenant. A section 21 or 8 notice.

If the tenants have two months rent unpaid, then the quickest way would be a S.8 notice using ground 8.
I would also issue the S.21 as well just as a back up.

sally_baker
28-04-2008, 17:36 PM